Tags

, , , , ,

The other day I saw a recipe in Parents Magazine, that was for a white-bean stew with pasta that looked delicious. However, after looking closely at the ingredients, I wasn’t crazy about their recipe, but was excited to create my own. I love coming up with my own recipes, and that is exactly what I did with this quick and easy soup. It is healthy, hearty, and sooo tasty.  *Update* check out my latest version of White Bean Soup at my new site http://elizabethshome.com/white-bean-soup-tomatoes-spinach-pasta/

Serves: 4 to 6        Time: 55 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans cannelini beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans diced tomatoes and juices
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water- as needed
  • 3 cups chopped fresh spinach
  • 1/2 cup ditalini pasta
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Fresh grated Parmesan cheese for serving

Directions

  1. In a Dutch oven or large sauce pan, heat olive oil until shimmering, then add onion and cook until tender, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  2. Add beans, tomatoes, broth and water, and stir. Simmer on medium heat for about 30 minutes, until the broth has thickened and reduced a bit, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add pasta and cook for about 10 minutes or until pasta is almost tender. Then add spinach and cook for another 5 minutes or until spinach has wilted. Remove from heat and serve with Parmesan cheese on top, and with hot, crispy French bread and butter.
